Riverside – Shrine Of New Generation Slaves

Published on 15 April 2019 by

      Progarchives: “Shrine Of New Generation Slaves” is the fifth album by Polish Progressive Rock/Metal act Riverside, one of the last decade’s most beloved European bands of the genre. They started off with a trilogy of albums, which begun in 2003 with “Out With Myself”, continued with “Second Life Syndrome” and ended with “Rapid Eye Movement”. These albums all had a very similar sound that combined heaviness with Pink Floydian atmospheres, with a greater dose of the latter. 2009’s “Anno Domini High Definition” was a complete direction-shifter, thanks to a sharper, more modern sounding production, more futuristic and advanced sounds, and more Metal. This last release stunned me completely, and I still keep it dear to my heart for it is now one of my favorite albums. “Shrine Of New Generations Slaves” at this point has quite a bit on its shoulders. Luckily, the band proves they are still in great shape, and that they can still amaze….

      Particular highlights that mark this beautiful journey are songs like the wonderfully complex ” The Depth Of Self-Delusion”, the meditative calmness of “Feel Like Falling” the more urgent, fun pieces like the single “Celebrity Touch”, or “Deprived”, and the second-to-last track, “Escalator Shrine”, which has the most powerful closing minutes Riverside has ever managed to write.

      “Shrine Of New Generation Slaves” ought to be remembered as one of the finest examples of Progressive Metal, and to be part of that still-growing bulk of masterful releases coming out of this decade. Its approach is very new, the atmospheres are very innovative, and the level of sophistication is extremely high; with these attributes, there is no reason for this to not be part of the best of the best. –EatThatPhonebook


Riverside – Shrine Of New Generation Slaves Tracklist

  1.  New Generation Slave (04:17)
  2.  The Depth Of Self-Delusion (04:17)
  3.  Celebrity Touch (11:57)
  4.  We Got Used To Us (18:44)
  5.  Feel Like Falling (22:55)
  6.  Deprived (Irretrievably Lost Imagination) (31:22)
  7.  Escalator Shrine (36:41)
  8.  Coda (49:22)

Mariusz Duda: vocals, bass guitar,acoustic guitar.
Piotr Grudziński: guitars.
Piotr Kozieradzki: drums.
Michał Łapaj: keyboard instruments, hammond, theremin.
Marcin Odyniec: saxophone in Deprived (Irretrievably Lost Imagination).

Shrine Of New Generation Slaves

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.