Roxy Music – Avalon

Published on 21 February 2019 by

      Roxy Music – Avalon, released in 1982, is Roxy Music’s eighth (and, to date, last) studio album. Recorded in 1981-82 at Compass Point Studios in Nassau, Bahamas, it is generally regarded as the culmination of the smoother, more adult-oriented sound of the band’s later work. It was a huge commercial success, hitting #1 in the UK (for 3 weeks) and staying on the album charts for over a year.

      Stephen Thomas Erlewine: ‘Flesh + Blood suggested that Roxy Music were at the end of the line, but they regrouped and recorded the lovely Roxy Music – Avalon, one of their finest albums. Certainly, the lush, elegant soundscapes of the album are far removed from the edgy avant-pop of their early records, yet it represents another landmark in their career. With its stylish, romantic washes of synthesizers and Bryan Ferry’s elegant, seductive croon, it simultaneously functioned as sophisticated make-out music for yuppies and as the maturation of synth pop. Ferry was never this romantic or seductive, either with Roxy or as a solo artist, and Avalon shimmers with elegance in both its music and its lyrics. “More Than This,” “Take a Chance with Me,” “While My Heart Is Still Beating,” and the title track are immaculately crafted and subtle songs, where the shifting synthesizers and murmured vocals gradually reveal the melodies. It’s a rich, textured album and a graceful way to end the band’s career.’


Roxy Music – Avalon Tracklist

  1. More Than This
  2. The Space Between (04:21)
  3. Avalon (08:45)
  4. India (12:58)
  5. While My Heart Is Still Beating (14:42)
  6. The Main Thing (18:04)
  7. Take a Chance with Me (21:54)
  8. To Turn You On (26:33)
  9. True to Life (30:46)
  10. Tara (35:04)

Roxy Music - Avalon

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.