Talking Heads – Remain in Light

Published on 12 February 2019 by

      Dan Leone  Way back in 1980, the original wave of Talking Heads fans were pleasantly stunned to hear Remain in Light, produced and co-written by Brian Eno, on which Byrne and company are joined by guitar god Adrian Belew, and funk legends Bernie Worrell (keyboards) and Steven Scales (percussion), among others, for a fuller, funkier sound nobody imagined they had in them. The first three songs are long, layered, full-body dance parties, with incessantly repeated phrases (musical and lyrical), and increasingly catchy melodic hooks that won’t let go for days. “Once in a Lifetime” was the big hit, but the rockingest track is the third, “The Great Curve,” after which the songs get more linear and subdued. It’s still great stuff, right through to the especially Eno-like droner, “The Overload,” but the second half is maybe better to sleep to than dance to. Which is fine: after the exuberance of the first three songs, you’ll need a little nap. 


Talking Heads – Remain in Light Tracklist

  1. Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)
  2. Crosseyed and Painless 05:49
  3. The Great Curve 10:37
  4. Once in a Lifetime 17:05
  5. Houses in Motion 21:28
  6. Seen and Not Seen  26:01
  7. Listening Wind 29:26
  8. The Overload 34:09

Talking Heads - Remain in Light

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.