The Beatles – Abbey Road

Published on 9 February 2019 by

      The Beatles – Abbey Road is the 11th studio album released by the English rock band the Beatles. It is their last recorded album, although Let It Be was the last album released before the band’s dissolution in 1970. Work on Abbey Road began in April 1969, and the album was released on 26 September 1969 in the United Kingdom, and 1 October 1969 in the United States.The Beatles – Abbey Road was released amid tensions within the band. Although it was a commercial success, it received mixed reviews from music critics who found its music inauthentic and criticized the production’s artificial effects. Since its initial reception, the album has been viewed by many critics as the Beatles’ greatest work and is ranked by several publications as one of the greatest albums of all time. Abbey Road remains their best-selling album.

    Richie Unterberger: ‘The last Beatles album to be recorded (although Let It Be was the last to be released), Abbey Road was a fitting swan song for the group, echoing some of the faux-conceptual forms of Sgt. Pepper, but featuring stronger compositions and more rock-oriented ensemble work. The group was still pushing forward in all facets of its art, whether devising some of the greatest harmonies to be heard on any rock record (especially on “Because”), constructing a medley of songs/vignettes that covered much of side two, adding subtle touches of Moog synthesizer, or crafting furious guitar-heavy rock (“The End,” “I Want You (She’s So Heavy),” “Come Together”). George Harrison also blossomed into a major songwriter, contributing the buoyant “Here Comes the Sun” and the supremely melodic ballad “Something,” the latter of which became the first Harrison-penned Beatles hit. Whether Abbey Road is the Beatles’ best work is debatable, but it’s certainly the most immaculately produced (with the possible exception of Sgt. Pepper) and most tightly constructed.’
The Beatles – Abbey Road Tracklist

  1. Come Together 00:00
  2. Something 04:20
  3. Maxwell Silverhammer 07:20
  4. Oh Darlin’ 10:43
  5. Octopus’ Garden 14:11
  6. I Want You (She’s So Heavy) 16:59
  7. Here Comes the Sun 24:44
  8. Because 27:50
  9. You Never Give Me Your Money 30:34
  10. Sun King 34:34
  11. Mean Mr. Mustard 37:00
  12. Polythene Pam 38:08
  13. She Came Thru The Bathroom Window 41:18
  14. Golden Slumber 44:28
  15. Carry That Weight Couldn’t play it by ear.
  16. The End 45:55
  17. Her Majesty 46:41

The Beatles - Abbey Road

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.