The Postal Service – Give Up

Published on 5 July 2019 by

    Heather Phares:  ‘Coming off their work on Dntel’s beautiful This Is the Dream of Evan and Chan, Jimmy Tamborello and Death Cab for Cutie’s Ben Gibbard team up again for their full-length debut as Postal Service, Give Up. Instead of covering that EP’s territory again, with this album the duo crafts a poppier, new wave-inflected sound that recalls Tamborello’s work with Figurine more than Dntel’s lovely subtlety. However, Ben Gibbard’s famously bittersweet vocals and sharp, sensitive lyrics imbue Give Up with more emotional heft than you might expect from a synth pop album, especially one by a side project from musicians as busy as Tamborello and Gibbard are. The Postal Service – Give Up exploits the contrast between the cool, clean synths and Gibbard’s all-too-human voice to poignant and playful effect, particularly on Give Up’s first two tracks. “The District Sleeps Alone” bears Gibbard’s trademark songwriting, augmented by glitchy electronics and sliced-and-diced strings, while “Such Great Heights”‘ pretty pop could easily appear on a Death Cab for Cutie album, minus a synth or two. Despite some nods to more contemporary electronic pop, Give Up’s sound is based in classic new wave and synth pop, at times resembling an indie version of New Order or the Pet Shop Boys. ….. Overall, Give Up is a fun diversion for Tamborello, Gibbard, and their fans. The Postal Service – Give Up doesn’t scale the heights of either of their main projects, but it’s far more consistent and enjoyable than might be expected.’


The Postal Service – Give Up Tracklist

1) The District Sleeps Alone Tonight
2) Such Great Heights (4:42)
3) Sleeping In (9:24)
4) Nothing Better (13:42)
5) Recycled Air (17:28)
6) Clark Gable (21:52)
7) We Will Become Silhouettes (26:46)
8) This Place Is a Prison (31:46)
9) Brand New Colony (35:40)
10) Natural Anthem (39:52)

Give Up

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.