The Rolling Stones – Aftermath

Published on 26 December 2020 by

      Aftermath, released April 1966 by Decca Records, is the fourth British studio album by the Rolling Stones. It was released in the United States in June 1966 by London Records as their sixth American album.  The Rolling Stones – Aftermath is considered an artistic breakthrough for the band, being the first full-length release to consist entirely of Mick Jagger/Keith Richards compositions. Brian Jones played a variety of instruments not usually associated with rock music—including sitar on “Paint It, Black” and “Mother’s Little Helper”, the Appalachian dulcimer on “Lady Jane” and “I Am Waiting”, the marimbas (African xylophone) on “Under My Thumb” and “Out of Time”, harmonica on “High and Dry” and “Goin’ Home”, as well as guitar and keyboards. Much of the music was still rooted in Chicago electric blues.

      Richie Unterberger: ‘The Rolling Stones finally delivered a set of all-original material with this LP The Rolling Stones – Aftermath, which also did much to define the group as the bad boys of rock & roll with their sneering attitude toward the world in general and the female sex in particular. The borderline misogyny could get a bit juvenile in tunes like “Stupid Girl.” But on the other hand the group began incorporating the influences of psychedelia and Dylan into their material with classics like “Paint It Black,” an eerily insistent number one hit graced by some of the best use of sitar (played by Brian Jones) on a rock record. Other classics included the jazzy “Under My Thumb,” where Jones added exotic accents with his vibes, and the delicate Elizabethan ballad “Lady Jane,” where dulcimer can be heard. Some of the material is fairly ho-hum, to be honest, as Mick Jagger and Keith Richards were still prone to inconsistent songwriting; “Goin’ Home,” an 11-minute blues jam, was remarkable more for its barrier-crashing length than its content. Look out for an obscure gem, however, in the brooding, meditative “I Am Waiting.” ‘


The Rolling Stones – Aftermath Tracklist

  1. 0:00 Mother’s Little Helper
  2. 2:48 Stupid Girl
  3. 5:46 Lady Jane
  4. 8:57 Under My Thumb
  5. 12:41 Doncha Bother Me
  6. 15:24 Goin’ Home
  7. 26:40 Flight 505
  8. 30:10 High and Dry
  9. 33:20 Out of Time
  10. 39:01 It’s Not Easy
  11. 41:58 I Am Waiting
  12. 45:13 Take it or Leave it
  13. 48:01 Think
  14. 51:12 What to Do

Release Date: June, 1966
Duration: 42:31
Genre: Pop/Rock
Styles: Blues-Rock British Invasion Contemporary Pop/Rock Rock & Roll AM Pop

Aftermath : The Rolling Stones: Musique

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.