The Rolling Stones – Let It Bleed

Published on 12 February 2019 by

      The Rolling Stones – Let It Bleed is the eighth British and tenth American album by English rock band The Rolling Stones, released in December 1969 by Decca Records in the UK and London Records in the US. Released shortly after the band’s 1969 American Tour, it is the follow-up to 1968’s Beggars Banquet and the last album by the band to feature Brian Jones as well as the first to feature Mick Taylor.

    AMG review: Mostly recorded without Brian Jones — who died several months before its release (although he does play on two tracks) and was replaced by Mick Taylor (who also plays on just two songs) — this extends the rock and blues feel of Beggars Banquet into slightly harder-rocking, more demonically sexual territory. The Stones were never as consistent on album as their main rivals, the Beatles, and The Rolling Stones – Let It Bleed suffers from some rather perfunctory tracks, like “Monkey Man” and a countrified remake of the classic “Honky Tonk Woman” (here titled “Country Honk”). Yet some of the songs are among their very best, especially “Gimme Shelter,” with its shimmering guitar lines and apocalyptic lyrics; the harmonica-driven “Midnight Rambler”; the druggy party ambience of the title track; and the stunning “You Can’t Always Get What You Want,” which was The Stones’ “Hey Jude” of sorts, with its epic structure, horns, philosophical lyrics, and swelling choral vocals. “You Got the Silver” (Keith Richards’ first lead vocal) and Robert Johnson’s “Love in Vain,” by contrast, were as close to the roots of acoustic down-home blues as The Stones ever got.


The Rolling Stones – Let It Bleed Tracklist

  1. 00:00 Gimme Shelter
  2. 04:31 Love In Vain
  3. 08:53 Country Honk
  4. 11:58 Live With Me
  5. 15:31 Let It Bleed
  6. 21:01 Midnight Rambler
  7. 27:52 You Got The Silver
  8. 30:43 Monkey Man
  9. 39:08 You Can’t Always Get What You Want

Rolling Stones - Let It Bleed

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.