Wild Nothing – Nocturne

Published on 25 June 2019 by

      Jack Tatum’s Wild Nothing made a pretty impressive showing with its last album, GEMINI. The debut album was a beautiful collection of lo-fi, reverb-drenched dream pop. Comparisons were drawn to The Smiths, The Cure, Joy Division, New Order, and a variety of other 80’s new-wave bands. The comparisons are apt: Tatum’s music lends a lot of tonal cache to the nostalgic bands of decades past. Wild Nothing’s music isn’t unoriginal though; while it may be inspired by the work of others, Wild Nothing is a band that could have only existed now. The band’s second album, NOCTURNE, feels like GEMINI with a bigger budget. It’s not quite as lo-fi, but the same shoe-gazing soundscapes are here. The album is much more Echo & the Bunnymen than it is Crocodiles, more Mirror Moves than Talk Talk Talk, but it doesn’t suffer for it. Instead, thanks to the high level of Tatum’s songs and the sound he and Vernhes create, it’s just the kind of album that could connect with lovers of slick, catchy pop with real humans behind the controls.

Jack Tatum – vocals, guitars, bass guitar
Michael Skattum – drums (2)
Jeff Curtain – drums (1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10 and 11)
Ben Talmi – string arrangements and conducting (1)
Tanner Johnson – first violin (1)
Madeline Ripley – second violin (1)
Sue Buzzard – viola (1)
Kim Lonetree – cello (1)


Wild Nothing – Nocturne Tracklist

  1.  Shadow 0:00 
  2.  Midnight Song 4:16 
  3.  Nocturne 7:22 
  4.  Through the Grass 12:40
  5.  Only Heather 16:45 
  6.  This Chain Won’t Break 20:20 
  7.  Disappear Always 23:59
  8.  Paradise 27:28 
  9.  Counting Days 33:00 
  10.  The Blue Dress 36:50 
  11.  Rheya 40:18

Wild Nothing - Nocturne

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.