Yes – Fragile

Published on 19 February 2019 by

      Fragile is the fourth studio album from the English progressive rock band Yes, released on Atlantic Records. It is the first to feature keyboardist Rick Wakeman, who replaced Tony Kaye in 1971, and the first to feature cover art by Roger Dean, who would design many of the band’s records. Upon its release in the UK in November 1971, Fragile – Yes hit number 7 on the UK Album Chart, which would prove its highest position there. It later reached number 4 on the US Billboard 200 during a stay of 46 weeks. Its release in the United States was held back for two months because of the chart momentum of their previous record, The Yes Album.

      Bruce Eder: ‘Fragile was Yes breakthrough album, propelling them in a matter of weeks from a cult act to an international phenomenon; not coincidentally, it also marked the point where all of the elements of the music (and more) that would define their success for more than a decade fell into place fully formed. The science-fiction and fantasy elements that had driven the more successful songs on their preceding record, The Yes Album, were pushed much harder here, and not just in the music but in the packaging of the album:the Roger Dean-designed cover was itself a fascinating creation that seemed to relate to the music and drew the purchaser’s attention in a manner that few records since the heyday of the psychedelic era could match. …’


Yes – Fragile Tracklist

1. Roundabout (8:29)
2. Cans And Brahms (1:35)
3. We Have Heaven (1:30)
4. South Side Of The Sky (8:04)
5. Five Percent For Nothing (0:35)
6. Long Distance Runaround (3:33)
7. The Fish (Schindleria Praematurus) (2:35)
8. Mood For A Day (3:57)
9. Heart Of The Sunrise (10:34)

Line-up / Musicians
– Jon Anderson / vocals
– Chris Squire / bass and vocals
– Rick Wakeman / keyboards
– Bill Bruford / drums
– Steve Howe / guitars and vocals


Yes - Fragile

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.