Big Big Train – English Electric: Part One

Published on 8 May 2019 by

      Big Big Train have released seven albums including the critically acclaimed CD’s Big Big Train – English Electric: Part One (2012) and The Underfall Yard (2009). An extended length EP, Far Skies Deep Time, was also released in 2010. The band’s latest album English Electric Part One was released in September 2012 and came second in the Prog magazines readers’ poll of album of the year, behind Marillion’s Sounds That Can’t Be Made.  In January 2013, Danny Manners (whose past credits include Louis Philippe and Cathal Coughlan) joined the band as keyboard player and double bassist. English Electric Part Two was released on 4th March 2013. On both of the English Electric albums, Big Big Train were joined by fellow travellers Andy Tillison (The Tangent), Dave Desmond (Band of the Coldstream Guards) and Rachel Hall (Stackridge).


Big Big Train – English Electric: Part One Tracklist

  1. The First Rebreather (8.32)
  2. Uncle Jack (3.49)
  3. Winchester From St Giles’ Hill (7.16)
  4. Judas Unrepentant (7.18)
  5. Summoned By Bells (9.17)
  6. Upton Heath (5.39)
  7. A Boy In Darkness (8.03)
  8. Hedgerow (8.52)

Total Time 58:44


Line-up / Musicians
– Andy Poole / bass, keyboards
– Greg Spawton / guitars, keyboards, bass
– David Longdon / vocals, flute, glockenspiel
– Dave Gregory / electric guitar
– Nick D’Virgilio / drums


Presenting eight brand-new songs, English Electric takes the listener on a journey through the English landscape, from the mining towns of the north to the chalk hills of the south.
Along the way, extraordinary tales are told of inland navigators, art-forgers, miners and men of industry; stories of people who dream of the daylight but are given up to the depths.
English Electric is a celebration of the people that work on, and under, the land and who made the hedges and the fields, the docks, the towns and the cities.
‘Tell me do you know the song of the Hedgerow?’

Critical acclaim: 

  • “Another step in the Train’s seemingly irresistible ascent.” PROG
  • “A grand statement.” RECORD COLLECTOR magazine
  • “Fragrant, mellifulous and, quite frankly, awe-inspiring.” CLASSIC ROCK
  • “Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection. ” PROGARCHIVES

Résultat de recherche d'images pour "Big Big Train - English Electric: Part One"Big Big Train - English Electric: Part One

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.