Curtis Mayfield – Super Fly

Published on 12 March 2019 by

      Curtis Mayfield – Super Fly is the third studio album by American soul and funk musician Curtis Mayfield, released in July 1972 on Curtom Records. It was released as the soundtrack for the Blaxploitation film of the same name. Widely considered a classic of 1970s soul and funk music, Super Fly was a nearly immediate hit. Its sales were bolstered by two million-selling singles, “Freddie’s Dead” (#2 R&B, #4 Pop) and the title track (#5 R&B, #8 Pop). Super Fly is one of the few soundtracks to out-gross the film it accompanied.
Curtis Mayfield – Super Fly, along with Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On, was one of the pioneering soul concept albums, with its then-unique socially aware lyrics about poverty and drug abuse making the album stand out.[12][13] The film and the soundtrack may be perceived as dissonant, since the Super Fly film holds rather ambiguous views on drug dealers, whereas Curtis Mayfield’s position is far more critical. Like What’s Going On, the album was a surprise hit that record executives felt had little chance at significant sales. Due to its success, Mayfield was tapped for several film soundtracks over the course of the decade.


Curtis Mayfield – Super Fly Tracklist

  1. Little Child Running Wild 00:05
  2. Pusherman 5:30
  3. Freddie’s Dead 10:35
  4. Junkie Chase (Instrumental) 16:00
  5. Give Me Your Love (Love Song) 17:45
  6. Eddie You Should Know Better 22:05
  7. No Thing On Me (Cocaine Song) 24:25
  8. Think (Instrumental) 29:25
  9. Superfly 33:10


Curtis Mayfield – composer, vocals, guitar, producer
Joseph Lucky Scott – bass
Master Henry Gibson – percussion
Tyrone McCullen – drums (“Pusherman”)
Morris Jennings – drums (all tracks except “Pusherman”)[23]
Craig McMullen – guitar


1972 Pop Albums #1 (4 weeks)
1972 Black Albums #1 (6 weeks)
1973 Jazz Albums #2
1988 Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums #88

Curtis Mayfield - Super Fly

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.