Genesis – Selling England By The Pound

Published on 13 March 2019 by

      Selling England by the Pound is the fifth studio album from the English progressive rock band Genesis, released in October 1973 on Charisma Records. It reached number 3 in the UK and number 70 in the US. Genesis besides being pop rock superstars, they were Art-Progressive Rock superstars in the 70’s, and such albums like Foxtrot ,Nursery Cryme and the masterpiece The lamb lies down on Broadway prove it. But by far, the best record ever made by Genesis is this one, Selling England by the pound. The reason: They sound like a band, everybody has the opportunity to show their talents. Peter Gabriel’s dramatic voice and a flute as dramatic as his voice. Steve Hackett, with his over the top guitar, almost Van Halenish sound, with complex and lyrical solos. Mike Rutherford showing he is great in the rhythm section with his precise bass lines. Tony Banks with his classical influenced keyboards that give the whole atmosphere to the recording and Phil Collins as the great drummer he is, with complex rhythms and a great background and lead vocalist. In 2012, the album ranked seventh in Rolling Stone‍ ’​s “Readers’ Poll: Your Favorite Prog Rock Albums of All Time”. It was also included in IGN’s list “10 Classic Prog Rock Albums” in 2008, who praised its “subtle elegance, sublime textures, and lyrical splendor”.


Genesis – Selling England By The Pound Tracklist

  1. 0:00 Dancing with the Moonlit Knight
  2. 8:02 I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)
  3. 12:10 Firth of Fifth
  4. 21:49 More Fool Me
  5. 25:00 The Battle of Epping Forest
  6. 36:40 After the Ordeal
  7. 40:55 The Cinema Show
  8. 51:57 Aisle of Plenty

Genesis - Selling England By The Pound

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.