Joe Jackson – Look Sharp!

Published on 25 June 2019 by

      Steve Huey: “A brilliant, accomplished debut, Look Sharp! established Joe Jackson as part of that camp of angry, intelligent young new wavers (i.e., Elvis Costello, Graham Parker) who approached pop music with the sardonic attitude and tense, aggressive energy of punk. Not as indebted to pub rock as Parker and Costello, and much more lyrically straightforward than the latter, Jackson delivers a set of bristling, insanely catchy pop songs that seethe with energy and frustration. Several deal with the lack of thoughtful reflection in everyday life (“Sunday Papers,” “Got the Time”), but many more concern the injuries and follies of romance. In the caustic yet charming witticisms of songs like the hit “Is She Really Going Out With Him?,” “Happy Loving Couples,” “Fools in Love,” and “Pretty Girls,” Jackson presents himself on the one hand as a man of integrity seeking genuine depth in love (and elsewhere), but leavens his stance with a wry, self-effacing humor, revealing his own vulnerability to loneliness and to purely physical attraction. Look Sharp! is the sound of a young man searching for substance in a superficial world — and it also happens to rock like hell. “

Joe Jackson – vocals, piano, harmonica
Gary Sanford – guitar
Graham Maby – bass
David Houghton – drums


Billboard Albums

Year Album Chart Peak
1979 Look Sharp! The Billboard 200 20

Billboard Singles

Year Single Chart Peak
1979 Is She Really Going Out With Him? The Billboard Hot 100 21


Joe Jackson – Look Sharp! Tracklist

  1. “One More Time” – 3:15
  2. “Sunday Papers” – 4:22
  3. “Is She Really Going Out with Him?” – 3:33
  4. “Happy Loving Couples” – 3:08
  5. “Throw It Away” – 2:49
  6. “Baby Stick Around” – 2:36
  7. “Look Sharp!” – 3:23
  8. “Fools in Love” – 4:23
  9. “(Do the) Instant Mash” – 3:12
  10. “Pretty Girls” – 2:55
  11. “Got the Time” – 2:55

Résultat de recherche d'images pour "Joe Jackson - Look Sharp!"

Licence YouTube standard


Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.