John Lennon – Imagine

Published on 21 July 2019 by

      John Lennon – Imagine is the second album by John Lennon. Recorded and released in 1971, it tended towards songs that were gentler, more commercial and less primal rock than those on his previous album, the critically acclaimed John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band. The album is considered the most popular of his works. In 2012, Imagine was voted 80th on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.

      Stephen Thomas Erlewine: After the harrowing Plastic Ono Band, John Lennon returned to calmer, more conventional territory with John Lennon – Imagine. While the album had a softer surface, it was only marginally less confessional than its predecessor. Underneath the sweet strings of “Jealous Guy” lies a broken and scared man, the jaunty “Crippled Inside” is a mocking assault at an acquaintance, and “Imagine” is a paean for peace in a world with no gods, possessions, or classes, where everyone is equal. And Lennon doesn’t shy away from the hard rockers — “How Do You Sleep” is a scathing attack on Paul McCartney, “I Don’t Want to Be a Soldier” is a hypnotic antiwar song, and “Give Me Some Truth” is bitter hard rock. If Imagine doesn’t have the thematic sweep of Plastic Ono Band, it is nevertheless a remarkable collection of songs that Lennon would never be able to better again. ‘


John Lennon – Imagine Tracklist

  1. “Imagine” – 3:01
  2. “Crippled Inside” – 3:47
  3. “Jealous Guy” – 4:14
  4. “It’s So Hard” – 2:25
  5. “I Don’t Want to Be a Soldier” – 6:05
  6. “Gimme Some Truth” – 3:16
  7. “Oh My Love” (Lennon−Yoko Ono) – 2:50
  8. “How Do You Sleep?” – 5:36
  9. “How?” – 3:43
  10. “Oh Yoko!” – 4:20

Résultat de recherche d'images pour "john lennon imagine album cover"

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.