John Mayer – Continuum

Published on 25 February 2019 by

      Matt Collar: ‘… Working with his blues trio/rhythm section of bassist Pino Palladino and drummer Steve Jordan, along with guest spots by trumpeter Roy Hargrove and guitarist Ben Harper, Mayer brings all of his recent musical explorations and increasing talents as a singer/songwriter to bear on Continuum. Produced solely by Mayer and Jordan, the album is a devastatingly accomplished, fully realized effort that in every way exceeds expectations and positions Mayer as one of the most relevant artists of his generation. … It’s a bold statement of purpose that is carried throughout the album, not just in sentiment, but also tone. Continuum is a gorgeously produced, brilliantly stripped-to-basics album that incorporates blues, soft funk, R&B, folk, and pop in a sound that is totally owned by Mayer. It’s no stretch when trying to describe the sound of Continuum to color it in the light of work by such legends as Sting, Eric Clapton, Sade, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and Steve Winwood. In fact, the sustained adult contemporary tone of the album could easily have become turgid, boring, or dated but never does, and brings to mind such classic late-’80s albums as Sting’s Nothing Like the Sun, Clapton’s Journeyman, and Vaughan’s In Step. At every turn, Continuum finds Mayer to be a mature, thoughtful, and gifted musician who fully grasps his place not just in the record industry, but in life.’



John Mayer – Continuum Tracklist

  1. Waiting on the World to Change – 3:20
  2. I Don’t Trust Myself (With Loving You) – 4:52
  3. Belief – 4:02
  4. Gravity – 4:05
  5. The Heart of Life – 3:18
  6. Vultures – 4:10
  7. Stop This Train – 4:45
  8. Slow Dancing in a Burning Room – 4:02
  9. Bold as Love (Jimi Hendrix) – 4:18
  10. Dreaming with a Broken Heart – 4:05
  11. In Repair – 6:07
  12. I’m Gonna Find Another You – 2:43
  13. Say – 3:51

John Mayer - Continuum

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.