Michael Jackson – Thriller

Published on 15 March 2019 by

      Stephen Thomas Erlewine: Off the Wall was a massive success, spawning four Top Ten hits (two of them number ones), but nothing could have prepared Michael Jackson for Thriller. Nobody could have prepared anybody for the success of Michael Jackson – Thriller, since the magnitude of its success was simply unimaginable — an album that sold 40 million copies in its initial chart run, with seven of its nine tracks reaching the Top Ten (for the record, the terrific “Baby Be Mine” and the pretty good ballad “The Lady in My Life” are not like the others). This was a record that had something for everybody, building on the basic blueprint of Off the Wall by adding harder funk, hard rock, softer ballads, and smoother soul — expanding the approach to have something for every audience. That alone would have given the album a good shot at a huge audience, but it also arrived precisely when MTV was reaching its ascendancy, and Jacksonhelped the network by being not just its first superstar, but first black star as much as the network helped him. ….. And, although this is an undeniably fun record, the paranoia is already creeping in, manifesting itself in the record’s two best songs: “Billie Jean,” where a woman claims Michael is the father of her child, and the delirious “Wanna Be Startin’ Something,” the freshest funk on the album, but the most claustrophobic, scariest track Jackson ever recorded. These give Michael Jackson – Thriller its anchor and are part of the reason why the record is more than just a phenomenon. The other reason, of course, is that much of this is just simply great music.

Michael Jackson – Thriller Tracklist

  1.  Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin (0:07)
  2.  Baby Be Mine (6:11)
  3. The Girl Is Mine (10:39)
  4. Thriller (14:21)
  5. Beat It (19:43)
  6. Billie Jean (24:03)
  7. Human Nature (28:56)
  8. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing) (33:01)
  9. The Lady In My Life (37:06)

Michael Jackson - Thriller

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.