Muse – The 2nd Law

Published on 19 February 2019 by

      ‘Gregory Heaney’   Throughout their career, it’s always been clear that Muse aren’t satisfied to just do the same thing over and over again, as they have evolved from their early days when they were (perhaps unfairly) pigeonholed as a Radiohead imitator into purveyors of some of the most epic symphonic rock since Queen graced the stage. On their sixth album, Muse – The 2nd Law, they continue to shake things up, diving deeper into the electronic rabbit hole as they experiment with a sound that’s less reliant on Matthew Bellamy’s guitar heroics, resulting in an album that’s a bit of a mixed bag. Incorporating some of the slickest production the band has ever had with a more synth-heavy sound, Muse – The 2nd Law certainly succeeds in feeling different from Muse’s previous work. While this certainly keeps with their tradition of always pushing their sound in new directions, their excursions into dubstep and dance music on tracks like “Madness” and “Follow Me” feel more like remixes than original songs.  …Muse – 2nd Law can sometimes feel a bit disjointed. Fortunately, the sense of drama Muse have cultivated over the years provides just enough glue to tie the album together so that fans won’t have too much problem navigating its choppy waters, and though not all of the band’s experiments necessarily pay off, the album feels like a worthy proving ground for the ideas that will take the band boldly into the future. 


Muse – The 2nd Law Tracklist

  1.  Supremacy ( 00:00)
  2.  Madness (04:56)
  3.  Panic Station (09:35)
  4.  Prelude (12:40)
  5.  Survival (13:38)
  6.  Follow Me (17:56)
  7.  Animals ( 21:47)
  8.  Explorers (26:10)
  9.  Big Freeze (31:58)
  10.  Save Me (36:37)
  11.  Liquid State (41:46)
  12.  The 2nd Law Unsustainable (44:50)
  13.  The 2nd Law Isolated System (48:38)

Muse - The 2nd Law

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.