Ray Lamontagne – Trouble

Published on 21 April 2019 by

      Ray Lamontagne, a new name in the market, and an image of a great singer/songwriter is what we have here. A true find, a voice like no others. He has been compared to Otis Redding, Van Morrison and David Grey, However, Ray has a voice of his own, sometimes gravelly, always luscious. His first CD “Trouble” is bound to be a great one. The lyrics alone are enough to bring in accolades, but his voice and the music behind him, guitar, piano, harmonica and bass are all he needs. This is one to be remembered. First and foremost this is a relaxed, sexy album. Possibly the best make-out album released since the mid to late 70s. There will inevitable comparison’s of Lamontagne’s style to Van Morrison. This is not a bad thing. Personally I would say he’s nice cross of Morrison, Otis Redding, and Bob Dylan, with some contemporary 21st century notes as well. As a bottom line, his voice is highly emotive and a perfect foil for the somewhat minimal and honest production on the record.
The best songs on Ray Lamontagne – Trouble, the debut release from songwriter Ray LaMontagne, draw on deep wells of emotion, and with LaMontagne’s sandpapery voice, which recalls a gruffer, more sedate version of Tim Buckley or an American version of Van Morrison, they seem to belie his years. Most of the tracks fall into a midtempo shuffle rhythm, so the words have to carry a lot in order to avert a sort of dull sameness, and when it works, it works big, and when it doesn’t, well, LaMontagne is so serious and sincere about his craft that you tend to forgive him instantly.


Ray Lamontagne – Trouble Tracklist

  1.  Trouble – 0:00
  2.  Shelter – 4:01
  3.  Hold You In My Arms – 8:38
  4.  Narrow Escape – 13:44
  5.  Burn – 18:23
  6.  Forever My Friend – 21:17
  7.  Hannah – 27:02
  8.  How Come – 32:44
  9.  Jolene – 37:18
  10.  All the Wild Horses – 41:29

Résultat de recherche d'images pour "ray lamontagne – trouble"Ray Lamontagne - Trouble

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.