Santana – Abraxas

Published on 12 February 2019 by

      It’s the second studio album by the Latin-influenced rock band Santana. Consolidating the interest generated by their first album, Santana (released in May 1969), and their highly acclaimed live performance at the Woodstock Festival in August 1969, the band followed-up with Santana – Abraxas in September 1970. The album’s mix of rock, blues, jazz, salsa and other influences was very well received, showing a musical maturation from their first album and refining the band’s early sound. Santana – Abraxas features a mixture of Latin influences with familiar rock themes such as showcased electric guitar, organ and heavy drums. The album also demonstrates Santana’s stylistic versatility, including tracks such as “Samba Pa Ti” (a classic slow-burning piece)[4] and “Incident at Neshabur”, both being instrumentals. The latter has several rhythm and time signature changes consistent with its jazz feel. Latin percussion — congas, bongos and timbales, as well as a conventional rock drum setup, expanded Santana’s foray into Latin rhythm.


Santana – Abraxas Tracklist

  1. 00:00  “Singing Winds, Crying Beasts [Instrumental]” Mike Carabello 4:51
  2. 04:51  “Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen” Peter Green/Gábor Szabó 5:22
  3. 10:11  “Oye Como Va” Tito Puente 4:16
  4. 14:30  “Incident at Neshabur [Instrumental]” A. Gianquinto/C. Santana 4:57
  5. 19:31  “Se a Cabo” José Areas 2:50
  6. 22:23  “Mother’s Daughter” Gregg Rolie 4:25
  7. 26:44  “Samba Pa Ti [Instrumental]” Santana 4:54
  8. 31:22  “Hope You’re Feeling Better” G.Rolie 4:11
  9. 35:32  “El Nicoya” Areas 1:30

Santana - Abraxas

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.