Soft Cell – Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret

Published on 13 March 2019 by

      Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret is the debut album by English synthpop duo Soft Cell. The album’s critical and commercial success was bolstered by the worldwide success of its single “Tainted Love”, a cover version of a soul song by Gloria Jones, which topped charts worldwide and became the best-selling British single of 1981 in the United States.

      William Ruhlmann: ‘In the U.S., Soft Cell, the British duo of singer Marc Almond and instrumentalist David Ball, was a classic one-hit wonder, that hit being the remake of Gloria Jones’ “Tainted Love,” which dominated dance clubs and eventually peaked in the pop Top Ten with its synth-pop sound and Almond’s plaintive vocal in 1981-1982. In the U.K., Soft Cell not only had a longer career, but also influenced a raft of similar performers. Soft Cell – Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret, originally released in Britain in the fall of 1981, contained both the band’s first hit and its follow-up, “Bedsitter,” its title referring to what in America would be called a studio apartment. (A third U.K. Top Five hit, “Say Hello Wave Goodbye,” emerged from the LP.) At full album length, lyricist Almond’s primary preoccupation, only suggested in “Tainted Love,” was spelled out; this was a theme album about aberrant sexuality, a tour of a red-light district. The point was well made on “Sex Dwarf,” with its oft-repeated chorus “Isn’t it nice/Sugar and spice/Luring disco dollies to a life of vice?” Songs like “Seedy Films,” “Entertain Me,” and “Secret Life” expanded upon the subject. The insistent beats taken at steady dance tempos and the chilling electronic sounds conjured by Ball emphasized Almond’s fascination with deviance; it almost seemed as though the album had been designed to be played in topless bars. British listeners saw through Almond’s pretense or were amused by him, or both; more puritanical Americans tended to disapprove, which probably limited Soft Cell’s long-term success stateside. But the music was undeniably influential. ‘


Soft Cell – Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret Tracklist

  1. 0:00 Frustration 
  2. 4:13 Tainted Love 
  3. 6:48 Seedy Films 
  4. 11:52Youth 
  5. 15:08 Sex Dwarf 
  6. 20:23 Chips On My Shoulder 
  7. 24:30 Bedsitter 
  8. 28:06 Secret Life
  9. 31:43 Say Hello, Wave Goodbye

Soft Cell - Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.