The Decemberists – The Crane Wife

Published on 14 April 2019 by

      James Christopher Monger: ‘Colin Meloy and his brave Decemberists made the unlikely jump to a major label after 2005’s excellent Picaresque, a move that surprised both longtime fans and detractors of the band. While it is difficult to imagine the suits at Capitol seeing dollar signs in the eyes of an accordion- and bouzouki-wielding, British folk-inspired collective from Portland, OR, that dresses in period Civil War outfits and has been known to cover Morrissey, it’s hard to argue with what the Decemberists have wrought from their bounty. The Decemberists – The Crane Wife is loosely based on a Japanese folk tale that concerns a crane, an arrow, a beautiful woman, and a whole lot of clandestine weaving. The record’s spirited opener and namesake picks off almost exactly where Picaresque left off, building slowly off a simple folk melody before exploding into some serious Who power chords. This is the first indication that the band itself was ready to take the loosely ornate, reverb-heavy Decemberists sound to a new sonic level, or rather that producers Tucker Martine and Chris Walla were. On first listen, the tight, dry, and compressed production style sounds more like Queens of the Stone Age than Fairport Convention, but as The Decemberists – The Crane Wife develops over its 60-plus minutes, a bigger picture appears. …..’


The Decemberists – The Crane Wife Tracklist

  1.  The Crane Wife 3
  2.  The Island [Come and See/The Landlord’s Daughter/You’ll Not Feel the Drowning] 4:19
  3.  Yankee Bayonet (I Will Be Home Then) 16:44
  4.  O Valencia! 21:02
  5.  The Perfect Crime #2 24:50
  6.  When the War Came 30:23
  7.  Shankill Butchers 35:30
  8.  Summersong 40:09
  9.  The Crane Wife 1 & 2 43:40
  10.  Sons & Daughters 55:00

The Decemberists - The Crane Wife

Licence YouTube standard

Category Tag

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.