Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

AMG Review: Few bands can call themselves contemporaries of both the heartbreakingly earnest self-destruction of Whiskeytown and the alienating experimentation of Radiohead’s post-millennial releases, but on the painstaking Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, Wilco seem to have done just that. In early 2001, the Chicago-area band focused on recording their fourth album, which ultimately led to the departure of guitarist Jay Bennett and tensions with their record label. Unwilling to change the album to make it more commercially viable, the band bought the finished studio tapes from Warner/Reprise for 50,000 dollars and left the label altogether. The turmoil surrounding the recording and distribution of the album in no way diminishes the sheer quality of the genre-spanning pop songs written by frontman Jeff Tweedy and his bandmates. After throwing off the limiting shackles of the alt-country tag that they had been saddled with through their 1996 double album Being There, Wilco experimented heavily with the elaborate constructs surrounding their simple melodies on Summerteeth. The long-anticipated Yankee Hotel Foxtrot continues their genre-jumping and worthwhile experimentation. The sprawling, nonsensical “I Am Trying to Break Your Heart” is as charmingly bleak as anything Tweedy has written to date, while the positively joyous “Heavy Metal Drummer” jangles through bright choruses and summery reminiscences. Similarly, “Kamera” dispels the opening track’s gray with a warm acoustic guitar and mixer/multi-instrumentalist/”fifth Beatle” Jim O’Rourke’s unusual production. The true high points of the album are when the songwriting is at its most introspective, as it is during the heartwrenching “Ashes of American Flags,” which takes on an eerie poignancy in the wake of the attacks at the World Trade Center. “All my lies are always wishes,” Tweedy sings, “I know I would die if I could come back new.” As is the case with many great artists, the evolution of the band can push the music into places that many listeners (and record companies for that matter) may not be comfortable with, but, in the case of Wilco, their growth has steadily led them into more progressive territory. While their songs still maintain the loose intimacy that was apparent on their debut A.M., the music has matured to reveal a complexity that is rare in pop music, yet showcased perfectly on Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. –by Zac Johnson


Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot Tracklist

  1.  I Am Trying To Break Your Heart (0:00)
  2.  Kamera (6:57)
  3.  Radio Cure (10:27)
  4.  War On War (15:36)
  5.  Jesus Etc. (19:26)
  6.  Ashes Of American Flags (23:18)
  7.  Heavy Metal Drummer (28:01)
  8.  I’m The Man Who Loves You (31:11)
  9.  Pot Kettle Black (35:07)
  10.  Poor Places (39:07)
  11.  Reservations (44:26)

Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Licence YouTube standard

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.